Listen: Lorde – Team

Lorde - Team

Lorde‘s debut album, Pure Heroine, is only a bit more than a couple of weeks away, and yesterday the rising pop star decided to give the world another taste. “Team” builds upon what we’d heard prior that made us name her One To Watch, but adds a bit of bravado into the mix, both in the beat – decidedly more hip hop-leaning, and including a skewed vocal as part of the intro – and the lyrics, where she claims that she’s “kind of over being told to throw [her] hands up in the air.”

In the video description for the song, the New Zealand-native explains the inspiration for the song, and for releasing it now:

i am in paris as i release this. every street we drive down makes my eyes pop with the most incredible things carved in stone, and gilded on pillars, and wrought with metal; the heroes and heroines of this city aren’t so hard to find. this song’s are a little more mismatched, less classic courtesans on their pedestals, but nonetheless brilliant. this song is kinda of that world, and at the same time, very much of this one. enjoy.

Pure Heroine will be released September 30/October 1 via Republic Records. Here is the track list:

01. Tennis Court
02. 400 Lux
03. Royals
04. Ribs
05. Buzzcut Season
06. Team
07. Glory And Gore
08. Still Sane
09. White Teeth Teens
10. A World Alone

Connect with LordeFacebook | Twitter | Website